HOME  |   CONTACT  |   SITE MAP  |  

About Us

The Walker County Public School System serves all of Walker County with the exception of the city of Jasper. There are 5 high schools, 4 jr. high schools, 3 middle schools, 4 elementary schools, 1 center of technology, and 1 alternative school. 

Higher education is available at Walker/Bevill State Community College located near downtown Jasper and at Bevill State located in Sumiton, AL. 

Walker County, Alabama

Walker County is located in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains 38 miles northwest of Birmingham, Alabama. Our civic-oriented county embodies the finer qualities of small town living. 

Walker County, Alabama


Old Harbon Hotel
Old Harbin Hotel - Nauvoo

Among our stellar sights are the William Cook Home and the Harbin Hotel located in Nauvoo, AL, and Old York, a western town-located in Oakman, AL -- all which take us back 100 years in time. The Mining Museum, located in Dora, AL displays technological and social developments in what was once one of the most important mining regions in the U.S.


Recreational opportunities abound on Lewis-Smith Lake. The Lewis Dam attracts nearly 40,000 visitors each year. The lake offers boating, fishing, and camping at Clear Creek Recreation, a National Park.

The Lewis Dam
Lewis Dam - Lewis Smith Lake


The Chamber Of Commerce of Walker County

The Walker County Arts Council hosts a concert series, a dinner theater, the Walker Community Theater, and the Jasper Children's Theater.

Our Industrial base is diverse, ranging from agriculture and timber to our Industrial Parks which recruit industry to our area. 


Visit WalkerWeb for more information about Walker County, Alabama. 

Click here to visit WalkerWeb.net!